Dawn on the River Cam

I’ve not had a huge amount of time to get out with the camera this week as I’ve been trying to get the last few bits sorted for our move to Ireland. I noted that the weather on Friday (today) was looking like it could be cold (-5) and sunny. I planned to head out in the hope there would be plenty of frost on the ground and even perhaps a bit of winter mist.

Sadly I have packed 99% of my winter clothing so I knew I couldn’t go too far, or stay out too long. With that in mind I decided to head down to Grantchester Meadows. Despite the temperature falling below freezing overnight there was little frost on the ground. Couple that with no mist or fog and a clear sky overhead, I knew the final image wasn’t going to be a keeper. Still, standing in the middle of the muddy field I decided to carry on shooting, trying different compositions and working with various ND grad filters (from Formatt Hitech). I always say that even without a keeper in mind you can still spend your time usefully, rather than just packing up and heading home.

I was doing the main shoot with the Fuji XE2 + 10-24mm lens but I also had the X100T slung around my neck snapping the smaller details of the morning. In the future I also hope to use the X100T to record some video from the field to publish to my YouTube channel.

All of the images below from the Fuji X100T, jpeg mode with standard film simulation. A bit of cropping here and there but apart from that direct from camera. As I quite often do I was shooting with with auto ISO in aperture priority. The odd bit of exposure compensation here and there.

nigelcookephotography-2015-428.jpg
1/30 second, f/2.8, ISO 800
nigelcookephotography-2015-429
1/30 second, f/2, ISO 400
nigelcookephotography-2015-427
1/500 second, f/4 , ISO3200
nigelcookephotography-2015-432
1/210 second, f/4, ISO 400
nigelcookephotography-2015-435.jpg
1/1250 second, f/5.6, ISO 800
nigelcookephotography-2015-436
1/1000 second, f/5.6, ISO 800
nigelcookephotography-2015-437.jpg
1/200 second, f/16, ISO 400
nigelcookephotography-2015-438.jpg
1/1400 second, f/5.6, ISO 800

Until next time ….

 

 

Leave a Reply

